pastervisit.blogg.se

The sound of a gunshot near me
The sound of a gunshot near me










the sound of a gunshot near me

He didn’t doubt that this place looked the same today as it had hundreds of years ago, back when cowboys and Indians rode the range. Logically, Dan couldn’t argue with that, but he’d hate to see this forest go. No sense in throwing away perfectly good logging rights, Cecil had said. His uncle, Cecil Armstrong, who ran one half of Armstrong Holdings, wanted to clear-cut these hundreds of acres before building a dam on this river, about five hundred yards upstream. It was a damn shame the trees, the river and the land wouldn’t be the same once his company got done with them. His sprawling estate outside of Fort Worth was a jewel, but north Texas didn’t have stands of pines this pretty or the carved sandstone bluffs that ran along the Dakota River. There was something about this forest that said Old West, South Dakota style. Now he was glad he’d done so because his imagination was working overtime. And since it had been years since the man had shown a whit of interest in Dan’s well-being, he’d listened. He didn’t normally wear it, but his uncle had told him to take a gun if he went out alone. War battle sites instead of theme parks and beaches.įor today’s ride, Dan Armstrong had brought along his custom-made six-shooter, but he couldn’t believe he’d need it. To Mom and Dad, two history teachers who plannedįamily vacations around national monuments and Civil Readers can find out more about Sarah’s love of cowboys and Indians at A Man When not helping out at school or walking her two rescue dogs, Sarah spends her days having conversations with imaginary cowboys and American Indians, all of which is surprisingly well-tolerated by her wonderful husband and son. She loves to put people from two different worlds into new situations and see how their backgrounds and cultures take them someplace they never thought they’d go. When she started writing, it wasn’t long before her characters found themselves out in South Dakota among the Lakota Sioux. With a lifelong love of horses and two history teachers for parents, she had plenty of encouragement to learn everything she could about the tribes of the Great Plains.

the sound of a gunshot near me

ANDERSON may live east of the Mississippi River, but her heart lies out west on the Great Plains. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it! Be sure to stop by and join me when I say, long live cowboys!Īward-winning author SARAH M. The question Dan has to answer is, what else is he willing to lose?Ī Man of His Word is my first Mills & Boonĭesire™ book, and for that alone, it will always be one of my favorites. He’ll use all that charm to get to the bottom of who killed his hat. On top of all that integrity, he is one good-looking cowboy who knows his way around a horse-and a woman. The surprise to Rosebud was how much Dan, an oil tycoon, turned out to be a man of principle and honesty. I imagined that having your whole world sunk to the bottom of an artificial lake was a good reason for a woman to be fighting-mad, and Rosebud agreed. The heroine was Rosebud Donnelly, the tribal lawyer for the Red Creek Lakota, whose reservation will be flooded by Dan’s dam. The hero turned out to be Dan Armstrong, the Chief Operating Officer of an energy company looking to build a hydroelectric dam. I like to think of this book as my Polaroidīook-the story took a long time to develop, but it was worth the wait. This image was so powerful that it stayed with me for months while the characters waited for me to figure out who they were, why she’d put a bullet through the hero’s hat and, most important, how they could ever fall in love. Before the hero could figure out who she was, she took a shot at him and rode away. This story began when an image popped into my head of an Indian Princess riding bareback out of the past and into the hero’s present. “I do not hide, Rosebud-and you don’t, either.” I can’t, anyway.”Īnger flashed through him. “Or the time after that? Or any time? We can’t hide forever. “What makes you think it would be any different the next time?” Her voice shook as she blinked rapidly and pulled away from him. Which was a hell of a lot different from “I won’t.” You promised me you wouldn’t go down without a fight, and I’m going to hold you to that. This is about me liking you and you liking me, slow dances to fast songs and not going down without a fight. And yet, inexplicably, in Dan’s strong arms, Rosebud feels she might be ready to risk everything…

the sound of a gunshot near me

From his storm-coloured eyes to his well-worn boots, Dan is a cowboy.Her yearning for the Texas tycoon goes against reason.

the sound of a gunshot near me

Lawyer Rosebud Donnelly has a case to win.But no one warned her that the head of the company she’s fighting would be so…manly.












The sound of a gunshot near me